Music for Film: Shigeru Umebayashi

Regular price €15.00

Shigeru Umebayashi: Music for Film

Film Fest Ghent presents the expanded release Shigeru Umebayashi: Music for Film. The Japanese composer is famous for his collaborations with Wong Kar-wai, but also foregrounded here is the rich variety of the composer’s film oeuvre and his collaborations with directors from all over the world. The album includes highlights from 2046, House of Flying Daggers, Curse of the Golden Flower and his world-famous “Yumeji’s Theme” from In the Mood for Love. Among the new recordings produced for this update are pieces from Sorekara, A Single Man and Sylvia Chang, Li Shaohong & Joan Chen’s 2021 anthology film Hero.

Shigeru Umebayashi: Music for Film is performed by Brussels Philharmonic and Vlaams Radiokoor, conducted by Dirk Brossé, music director of Film Fest Ghent.

Recorded by Motormusic, the new album is licensed to Silva Screen Records and will be released during the 48th edition of Film Fest Ghent in October 2021.



  1. In the Mood for Love – Yumeji’s Theme
  2. Curse of the Golden Flower – Theme of the Empress
  3. Curse of the Golden Flower – Curse of the Golden Flower
  4. Curse of the Golden Flower – Mother & Jai
  5. 2046 – Polonaise
  6. 2046 – Interlude
  7. 2046 – Main Theme
  8. Incendiary – Main Theme
  9. Incendiary – Victoria Station
  10. Hero – Joan’s Cello*
  11. Charleston & Vendetta (Tears for Sale) – Vendetta March
  12. A Single Man – George's Waltz (II)*
  13. A Single Man – A Variation on “Scotty Tails Madeleine” / Carlos*
  14. Hannibal Rising – Hollow Inside
  15. Zhou Yu’s Train – Train
  16. Sorekara (And Then) – Moyou (Pattern)*
  17. Sorekara (And Then) – Main Theme
  18. In Times Past and Gone*
  19. House of Flying Daggers – No Way Out
  20. House of Flying Daggers – Farewell No 2
  21. House of Flying Daggers – Lovers


* Previously unreleased