Music for Film: Mychael Danna

Regular price €15.00

Mychael Danna: Music for Film

Film Fest Ghent presents the expanded reissue Mychael Danna: Music for Film. Guest of honour at the 2007 World Soundtrack Awards, Mychael Danna has consistently been one of the most original and intelligent voices in film music of the past 30 years, his musical achievements having earned him an honorary doctorate from the University of Toronto in 2014 and a Career Achievement Award from the Zurich Film Festival in 2021. He has become renowned for his collaborations with Atom Egoyan, Ang Lee and Mira Nair.

This album includes highlights from his scores for Monsoon Wedding, Where the Truth Lies, Capote and Little Miss Sunshine among other films. Recorded specifically for this new edition are suites from Hearts in Atlantis, Moneyball and his Oscar-winning score for Life of Pi. All tracks are studio recordings except for one bonus track – the live performance of the suite from The Ice Storm at the 2007 World Soundtrack Awards concert.

The new album Mychael Danna: Music for Film is licensed to Silva Screen Records and will be released during the 48th edition of Film Fest Ghent in October 2021. All pieces are performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and Vlaams Radiokoor, conducted by Film Fest Ghent music director Dirk Brossé.



  1. Being Julia – Suite
  2. Life of Pi – Suite*
  3. Shattered Glass – Suite
  4. Little Miss Sunshine – Suite
  5. Capote – Suite
  6. Hearts in Atlantis – Suite*
  7. Moneyball – Suite*
  8. Monsoon Wedding – Suite
  9. Where the Truth Lies – Suite
  10. The Ice Storm – Suite (Live)
  11. Vanity Fair – Suite


* Previously unreleased